Coldplay Mark The 20th Anniversary Of ‘A Rush Of Blood To The Head” With The Release Of 4K Upgrade Of “The Scientist” Video

Coldplay are celebrating twenty years since the release of their second album, A Rush Of Blood To The Head. The multi Grammy-winning number one album has since sold over 17 million copies worldwide.

To mark the anniversary, the band have released an upgraded 4K version of the iconic Jamie Thraves-directed video for The Scientist, which has been restored and re-graded from the original 35mm film rushes.

The 4K version is available to watch now on the original YouTube link for The Scientist, where the video has already accumulated more than 1 billion views.

The entire album – which featured the singles In My Place, The Scientist, Clocks and God Put A Smile Upon Your Face – has also been newly mixed for Dolby Atmos. The Dolby Atmos version is available to listen now on Apple Music, Amazon and TIDAL.

Coldplay have also contributed memories about the album and its recording to Spotify, which can be viewed over on the band’s This Is Coldplay playlist.

On its release, A Rush Of Blood To The Head was described by NME as “an album of outstanding natural beauty”, with Rolling Stone calling it “first rate” and Q presciently hailing it as “a collection of vastly moving songs that will render stadiums as intimate as bedrooms” (as has proven to be the case when the band play songs from the album on their current Music Of The Spheres World Tour).

A Rush Of Blood To The Head can be streamed / downloaded here. Its track listing is as follows:

  1. Politik
  2. In My Place
  3. God Put a Smile Upon Your Face
  4. The Scientist
  5. Clocks
  6. Daylight
  7. Green Eyes
  8. Warning Sign
  9. A Whisper
  10. A Rush of Blood To The Head
  11. Amsterdam
%d bloggers like this: