Middle Kids Debut Album Release

Middle Kids announce their eagerly-awaited debut album, Lost Friends, out May 4, 2018 on EMI Music Australia.

On Lost Friends, Hannah Joy, Harry Day and Tim Fitz bring back their knack for haunting hooks, lyrical poignancy and irresistible indie rock appeal that critics praised in their self-titled first EP, released early 2017. This radiant collection of new songs conjures melodic nostalgia for some of song writing’s very best, rich in heartfelt build and beautiful simplicity. Take new song Mistake as evidence.

Middle Kids made a powerful debut last year with the release of their internationally acclaimed self-titled EP, featuring singles Edge of Town and Your Love. The band dazzled with sold out headline shows, a killer set at Splendour In The Grass, and a special guest slot for the legendary Ryan Adams.

In the US they toured relentlessly supporting the likes of Cold War Kids, played several SXSW showcases, performed at Austin City Limits and Lollapalooza, sold-out Baby’s All Right in New York City, and made their television debut on Conan.

The new album, Lost Friends, is the kind of album that sucker-punches you in the gut, revealing its nuances only after repeated listens. The songs’ edges are jagged, the production clean, stray imperfections imbue warmth and a human touch. Middle Kids craft classic hooks and riffs that tangle up in your brain like taffy and choruses that linger long after the song has faded. And they’ve bonded over a greater sense of what their music should accomplish.

“In a time where a lot of division is growing, we want to be part of the conversation that unites people around certain ideals that are universal, like hope and love,” says Hannah Joy. “That’s so much a thread throughout this album: Even though things are tough, it’s worth believing in something good and in the idea that we can heal. And in some ways, I wanted the music to be beautiful and a respite from what’s going on.”

Lost Friends is available to pre-order now on limited pressing purple vinyl housed in gatefold jacket, gatefold CD w/ 6-page booklet, and digital download.

Lost Friends tracklisting:
01. Bought It
02. Mistake
03. Edge Of Town
04. Maryland
05. On My Knees
06. Don’t Be Hiding
07. Hole
08. Please
09. Lost Friends
10. Never Start
11. Tell Me Something
12. So Long Farewell I’m Gone

Pre-order Lost Friends HERE

Middle Kids - Lost Friends

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: