Henry Wagons To Host South Australian Music Awards

Music SA has announced that the South Australian Music (SAM) Awards, with support from the State Government, will be hosted by musician, media personality and double j radio host, Henry Wagons. The 2017 event, for which tickets are now on sale, will be held at the newly developed Thebby Lane (Thebarton Theatre), on Thursday 9th November.

Event MC Henry Wagons will bring his swagger and charm to guide Adelaide’s music industry through a long and sweaty roller coaster ride of celebration featuring 29 award presentations, 5 live performances, DJs, a feast under the stars in Thebby Lane and a rollicking 6-tap trailer of local craft beer courtesy of Little Bang Brewing Co.

Henry Wagons quote:
“I’m really looking forward to a fantastic night, knitting together these 29 awards into one gargantuan celebration of South Australia’s finest!! It’ll be a night of nights… Bring it on!”

Public voting for the genre award categories opens today via www.themusic.com.au/samawards and will remain open across a three-week period until August 31, with all winners to be announced at the SAM Awards on Thursday November 9, at Thebby Lane (Thebarton Theatre).

Thebby Lane is the newly established boutique ‘venue within a venue’. Offering its own laneway entrance off Danby Street car park, Thebby Lane sees the audience enter straight into the heart of The Thebarton Theatre, utilising this beloved historic venue in a more intimate setting.

Thebarton Theatre

Earlybird tickets for the 2017 SAM awards are now available at $60 +bf and all tickets include food and drinks. Earlybird tickets are only available until Friday September 1, after which ticket prices will increase to their full price of $75.


Vote now in the Public-voting genre award categories


Blues/Roots Award – presented by Radio Adelaide
Country Award – presented by Grace Emily Hotel
Electronic Award – presented by Fresh 92.7
Experimental Award – presented by Ancient World
Folk Award – presented by Wheatsheaf Hotel
Heavy Award – presented by Australian Rock & Metal Institute
Hip Hop Award – presented by Northern Sound System
Jazz/Art Music Award – presented by Elder Conservatorium
Pop Award – presented by The Gov
Punk Award – presented by Crown & Anchor
Rock Award – presented by Fat Controller
World Music Award – presented by WOMADelaide

In addition to the People’s Choice Awards, the SAM Awards will host an additional 17 peer-voted award categories judged by a stellar line up of local and national industry experts. These awards include Best Studio, Best Engineer, Best Music Festival / Event – presented by moshtix, Best Music Venue, Best Manager, Best Cover Art, Best Music Video, Best Song – presented by APRA AMCOS, Best New Artist, Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Island Artist, Best Group, Best Male Artist, Best Female Artist and Best Release.

The SAM Awards aim to highlight the most outstanding achievement in the South Australian Music industry over the past twelve months.

For more information and tickets: www.southaustralianmusicawards.com.au

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: