Devin Townsend Launches ‘Lightworker’, Third Single From Upcoming Studio Album ‘Lightwork’

Devin Townsend is set to release his forthcoming new album Lightwork on Friday 4 November 2022, following months of hard work finishing the album, as well as an extensive European touring schedule that included 2 nights at London’s Royal Albert Hall.

He is also pleased to launch the epic new video for the track Lightworker, directed by iCode and the third in a trilogy of clips reflecting the journey of his new album.

Devin checks in with this comment:
“Hey folks 🙂 track three from Lightwork is now up to bat… and this one is called ‘Lightworker’ (ta da!)

This album is interesting to me in many ways, but mostly because of how unexpected it was. I’ve been doing interviews and there’s a lot of folks who are surprised at how it turned out, somehow they were expecting brutal music from me or something (frankly, I couldn’t imagine having the energy to go down that road after that last few years, but I can understand the desire for it) it’s just that Lightwork and The Puzzle were both completely unexpected for me, but as I am committed to following where it leads, I simply went as far into them both as I was able.

I just follow the creative flow where it leads, and I’m quite happy with that. To be honest, having started writing again it seems like it was a unique moment in time for me, so I hope you can see it for what it is and appreciate the energy for what it was meant to be.

Lightworker is a song based loosely around Richard Alpert (Ram Dass) who died a few years ago. His book ‘Be Here Now’ was influential to me as a kid, and when I saw the documentary they made about him on Netflix (Going Home) I felt inspired to write a track in his memory. I reached out to the Ram Dass foundation and they allowed me to use the sample of his voice in the mid section. Thank you 🙂

The video was made by the same team who did Spirits Will Collide, and they yet again pulled off a huge feat in limited time (Thanks guys 🙂 I wanted a story about a guy who is so attached to his past, and the pain of loss, that any time the ‘monsters’ of his past appear, he runs from it. As a result, he has to live the same dramas over and over again. It’s not until he stands and faces his fear that he can move past it. In this case he can help others by facing the monster and then Finally rest.

I hope you enjoy it, and I really appreciate the support. I hope your week is good, and I hope to see you at the Lightwork Streaming event on November 5th 🙂

Be well my friends,

Devin :)”

Devin is also pleased to announce a special album release streaming event to take place on the Saturday 5 November at 8pm UK time / 9pm CEST / 3pm EST / 12pm PST (6am AEDT on Sunday 6 November). This will premiere on Devin’s YouTube channel and feature a specially recorded acoustic performance, as well as a Q&A. Fans can submit their questions to Devin at: https://forms.sonymusicfans.com/campaign/devin-townsend-question-collection/. Deadline for question submission is this Friday 28th October.

%d bloggers like this: