Spacey Jane Announce Forthcoming Album ‘Here Comes Everybody’

Embracing 2022 with everything they’ve got, ARIA winners Spacey Jane have a huge year ahead of them. In the midst of a stack of international touring, with some US and UK shows sold out months in advance, the four piece are gearing up to release their second album Here Comes Everybody on Friday 10 June.

Taken from the working title of Wilco’s seminal album Yankee Hotel Foxtrot (one of the bands’ favourite albums) Here Comes Everybody first came to life at the start of the lockdowns in 2020 and features already released tracks Lunchtime which came in at #12 in the recent triple j Hottest 100 poll, and Lots of Nothing which took out the #3 spot.

Lead singer Caleb Harper talks through the themes of Here Comes Everybody.

“Our first record (Sunlight) discussed personal experiences of mine and it was a blessing to see how many people related to those stories. I want this record to be for youth persevering and thriving emotionally under the weight of our generational burden made up of climate change, COVID etc. Feeling like you have the responsibility of your entire future on your shoulders without any say in what happens creates anxiety and uncertainty. I think COVID took away the sense of unity that gives young people assurances in such times. I know music isn’t a replacement for taking control and galvanizing positive change, but I hope this record can soundtrack some of those moments in peoples lives.”

Latest single Sitting Up further reflects the overarching album themes.

“I wrote this about the way I was feeling and behaving when I was in my final semester of uni before dropping out. I left quite unceremoniously by not showing up to any of my final exams or handing in final assessments. I had no idea who I was, I was seriously depressed and completely spinning out. I felt like I’d created this terrible facade of myself for all of these people that I knew and that really I hadn’t been myself around someone or been truthful about my feelings in years. I didn’t care about my life or what I was doing to my body, I thought I was going to end up dead if I didn’t fix something. I felt like I was the only one going through those feelings and even though that wasn’t true, it made me feel so alone.”

Here Comes Everybody is available for pre-order now.

Track List

  1. Sitting Up
  2. Lunchtime
  3. Lots Of Nothing
  4. Clean My Car
  5. Hardlight
  6. It’s Been A Long Day
  7. Bothers Me
  8. Not What You Paid For
  9. Haircut
  10. Head Above
  11. Yet
  12. Pulling Through
%d bloggers like this: