New Album & Tour Dates For Hiatus Kaiyote

The twice Grammy-nominated group Hiatus Kaiyote share their highly anticipated new album, Mood Valiant, out via Brainfeeder Records / Ninja Tune.

The follow up to their critically acclaimed 2015 album, Choose Your Weapon, Mood Valiant came together after six years during which the band spent time touring, writing and recording, culminating in a 2019 trip to Rio de Janeiro that led them to work with legendary Brazilian arranger Arthur Verocai. The result is an album, bookended by Verocai’s strings, that relaxes into a groove: sunlit, beguiling, masterful. Behind everything is Hiatus’ familiar sense of musical adventure, their knack for making the complex sound simple, evident in previously-released singles Get Sun, Red Room and Chivalry Is Not Dead.

Alongside the album release, Hiatus Kaiyote are also sharing the video for the album’s debut single, Get Sun. Featuring Verocai, the track came together during a session in Australia’s Byron Bay, though Nai Palm had largely written the song before the band formed in 2011. The accompanying video takes an absurdist sci-fi trip, perfectly matching the single’s buoyant energy.

Director Grey Ghost (Jeremy Koren) shares more about the concept behind the video: “The ‘Get Sun’ video is a wild and wonky space journey inspired by Red Dwarf, The Young Ones, Mighty Boosh & Le Voyage dans la Lune. The band came to me with a huge idea that featured them attempting to get to the sun by various DIY methods, so we met up to chat over the concept and next minute we had a goddamn giant beast to create… I wanted it to look shitty and beautiful all in one, to be stoopid and breathtaking and to take you on a strange journey into the warped imagination of one of the dopest living bands.”

Nai Palm added about filming Get Sun, “I have never laughed more on set, ever. I’m usually pretty camera shy, but everything about this video was a joy to make. Jeremy was the ultimate legend, and all hands on deck were super loverly and creative. Can’t wait to share it and make more weird nerd art visuals for people to see. Also, it’s not everyday you get to ride a velociraptor in space.”

Hiatus Kaiyote is Naomi “Nai Palm” Saalfield (guitar, vocals), Paul Bender (bass), Simon Mavin (keys), and Perrin Moss (drums). Beloved across the globe, the Melbourne-based act have received praise from worldwide industry heavyweights, including Annie Mac, Gilles Peterson and Benji B on BBC Radio 1 and 6 Music, as well as homegrown support from Double J, triple j and community radio stations nationwide. Furthermore, they have received glowing coverage from the likes of NME, Pitchfork, The Fader, Rolling Stone, The Guardian and more.

Taking the album on the road, Hiatus Kaiyote recently announced their Mood Valiant Australian tour, playing at some of the most beloved venues in Melbourne, Newcastle, Sydney, Canberra, Perth, Adelaide and Brisbane. The band were also recently announced as the headliners for Astral People’s 10th Birthday as part of 2021’s Vivid LIVE program and they will also play the rescheduled Bluesfest in Byron Bay come October. Visit Hiatus Kaiyote’s Official Store for more information.

Through the ups and downs and the starts and stops of the process, Mood Valiant arrives as a symbol of the act of love, of courage, of altered perspective, of sister-and-brotherhood. Tune in today and catch Hiatus Kaiyote over the coming months.


  1. Flight Of The Tiger Lily
  2. Sip Into Something Soft
  3. Chivalry Is Not Dead
  4. And We Go Gentle
  5. Get Sun feat. Arthur Verocai
  6. All The Words We Don’t Say
  7. Hush Rattle
  8. Rose Water
  9. Red Room
  10. Sparkle Tape Break Up
  11. Stone Or Lavender
  12. Blood And Marrow

On tour on the following dates, ticket and show info here

%d bloggers like this: