The Empty Threats Release New Single “U”

Adelaide’s alluring neo-psych rock group The Empty Threats are returning this week with their brand-new single U. It’s the first of two single releases ahead of their forthcoming self-titled EP, which drops via South Australian label PAK Music in late-September.

Praised by South Australian icons West Thebarton as one of their favourite Adelaide-based acts – featuring a perfect blend of Tame Impala, Joy Division, Pond, and INXS, with a subtle King Gizzard aftertaste – ‘Empties’ have quickly become known amongst the Adelaide music community for consistently putting on an electrifying live performance. In the past 18 months alone, they’ve shared the stage with some of Australia’s best psych-rock groups including Methyl Ethyl, A Swayze & The Ghosts, The Babe Rainbow and The Vanns.

Of the release of U, which was recorded and mixed by song-writer/ guitarist Matt Schultz (Tiles), enigmatic frontman Stu Patterson, also of Dead Roo and Placement, shares:

“U is a song representing self-reflection and personal development, touching on the feeling of being suppressed
and feeling alone in an ever changing society. The mellow half of the song self-realisation and the place you fill in society, and the outro (where the clarinet comes in) represents the chaos and mental spiral that can come with self-

The release of U will be complemented with an official music video, premiering via YouTube on Wednesday 23 March. Co-produced and directed by South Australian filmmaker Conor Mercury, the video was filmed on the wide-open shores of Sellicks Beach along South Australia’s picturesque Fleurieu Peninsula, where vocalist Stu spent most of his childhood.

The Empty Threats will be celebrating the launch of U to a sold-out hometown crowd at Adelaide’s Jive on Saturday March 27. They’ll be supported by post-punk rockers Coldwave + dreamy songstress Keeskea.

U will be available to stream and for digital download via Spotify, Apple Music and Bandcamp now.

%d bloggers like this: