Slow Fades To Release Their New EP This Week

Melbourne band Slow Fades return with a new EP Passing Headlights Blinking that embraces their 90s indie roots, but makes it sound at home in 2020. After a well-received EP Canyon Songs in 2018, Slow Fades have spent the past 18 months piecing together a second EP, working with long-time collaborator Neil Gray (Dan Sultan, The Vasco Era) at his Big Sky Audio studio and produced by the band’s multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Dave Rogers (Ben Lee, Georgia Fields), it’s a sonic step forward for a band who have been recording together for two decades. And where Canyon Songs mined 70s FM rock and Laurel Canyon, the new collection takes these influences and veers towards the band’s roots in Melbourne’s fertile indie rock scene of the 90’s.

Literate songwriting from Birchall and Rogers, solid rhythm from drummer Darren Vlah (Glorious North, Klinger) and bassist Glenn Arnup (Barebones, Duke Batavia), and for the first time augmented by the keys of Amy Bennett (Second Prize, D.Rogers).

The first taste of the EP, This City Is Sinking is an accomplished and rousing song about the nature of community and the need for solidarity in tough times. The track was featured in Rolling Stone and received play from ABC Melbourne, PBS and RRR.

Says Slow Fades singer and guitarist Ben Birchall:
“We started writing the song two years ago, when Sisto Malaspina from Pellegrini’s was tragically killed and Melbourne was hurting. And with the multiple lockdowns this year, the city is hurting just as badly. The song has developed second and third meanings.”

With a physical launch or video shoot impossible, the band got creative to launch Passing Headlights Blinking. Each of the six songs are accompanied by a poignant video, edited together by the band from stock footage on iMovie.

Says Birchall:
“When you can’t get together to play, you have some time on your hands to scroll through hours of stock footage and learn how to cut video.”

The band have been busy in lockdown. While they can’t play live, they’ve cut a video for each of the six songs as well as a podcast, diving deep into each song.


10,000 Hours
Take Your Time
This City Is Sinking
Hard On Love
(After The) After The Crash

More info at

%d bloggers like this: