The Rubens Announce Album Number Four

Ivy League Records is incredibly proud to announce that 0202, the fourth album from The Rubens, will be released on Friday 12 February 2021, available to pre-order now via digital, CD, LP & various merchandise bundles. Cementing their status as a band that continues to evolve as songwriters and push the boundaries of alternative rock/pop, 0202 – featuring recent singles Live In Life (nominated for ARIA Song of the Year), Heavy Weather & current single Time Of My Life – is an exciting new chapter for The Rubens and a celebration of the five-piece at their creative peak.

To coincide with the announce, the band today release the powerful video for Time Of My Life, a track that boasts one of the biggest hooks in the band’s catalogue to date.

With a cast made up entirely of 18-year-old, year 12 students, the clip was inspired by the numerous emails and DMs the band has received throughout COVID-19, from students doing it tough at a time that should be full of excited anticipation for the future.

“We wrote Time Of My Life before COVID, but we knew at the time that the song had a nostalgic feel to it. Once we started getting emails from year 12 students and teachers, we realised it could be more meaningful. We got together with our good mate and collaborative partner Russ and he directed the video. We wanted it to be a homage to Year 12 Class Of 2020.” – The Rubens

The clip serves as a dedication to these resilient young adults and matches the song’s themes of hopeful introspection, musing over the ramifications of time and perspective – ultimately choosing to overcome fear and embrace the future for all its unknowns. Time Of My Life has been hugely embraced by loyal and new fans alike, including triple j (#1 most played), commercial radio, Spotify & Apple Music.

The Rubens’ fourth record, 0202, is a forward-thinking album for a backward year. 0202 sees the band in the driver’s seat and the result is their most assured album to date, and boasts a sound that effortlessly dances across genres – alt-rock, rnb, pop and hip hop all collide into something uniquely their own. With 0202 the band have fully transformed into an alt-rock/pop powerhouse and self-produced an album that will have people re-evaluating what they thought they knew about The Rubens.

The arrival of The Rubens’ fourth album – almost ten years since their first upload to triple j unearthed as teenagers – is a credit to their incessant work ethic & the impact the band have made over their incredible career. LO LA RU, featured hits Never Ever (feat Sarah) (now Double Platinum), Million Man (Certified Gold), God Forgot (Certified Gold) and lead to sold out shows and a 42-date Arena tour supporting megastar P!NK. Hoops saw the band sell out headline shows at Hordern Pavilion and Margaret Court Arena and included hits Hallelujah, Cut Me Loose and of course the 4 x Platinum the hit title track, which topped the 2015 triple j Hottest 100, while their debut self-titled LP was home to My Gun (Certified Platinum), Lay It Down (Certified Gold), The Best We Got and more fan-favourites.

A huge testament to their unwavering talent and ability to constantly reinvent themselves, 0202 marks the start of yet another exciting chapter for the band. “We’re so bloody proud of this album and the way we created it, and we can’t believe how lucky we are to have made it this far. Thanks to all our fans for being there, we can’t wait for you to hear this one!”

Following the recent second postponement of the band’s Live In Life tour due to COVID-19, their biggest headline tour to date, the tour will now be rebranded to the 0202 Album Tour. The new dates, taking place from April – June, 2021, will see the NSW band play metro cities for the first time since their 2018 LO LA RU album shows as well as regional venues across the 24-date run.

The Rubens
Album out Friday 12 February 2021 through Ivy League Records
Available to pre-order here

0202 track listing:

  1. Masterpiece
  2. Heavy Weather
  3. Live In Life
  4. Time Of My Life
  5. Thank You
  6. Muddy Evil Pain
  7. Holiday
  8. Explosions
  9. State Of My Mind
  10. Apple
  11. Back To Back
  12. Party
%d bloggers like this: