Pearl Jam Named Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Inductee

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony is scheduled to be held on April 7 at Barclays Centre, Brooklyn, New York for the third time. The class of 2017 to be inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame includes:

  • Pearl Jam
  • Tupac Shakur
  • Journey
  • Electric Light Orchestra
  • Yes
  • Joan Baez

Whilst Chic was not inducted (even after appearing on the ballot eleven times), the band’s mastermind Nile Rodgers is the recipient for this year’s Award for Musical Excellence

It is an interesting process to being eligible for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Firstly, a nominee’s first recording must have been released at least twenty five years ago. In a significant change which started in 2012, fans are given the opportunity to vote for the nominees they’d like to see inducted in to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The top five vote-getters in the public pull form one ballot, which is then weighted the same as the rest of the submitted ballots.

Ballots are then sent to more than nine hundred historians, members of the music industry and artists—including every living Rock Hall inductee—and the five performers receiving the most votes become that year’s induction class.

In another first, in 2017 the Hall of Fame will honor specific members of each band as opposed to the full lineup. Thus, of the five drummers who’ve played with Pearl Jam, only current drummer Matt Cameron and founding member Dave Krusen are eligible for induction. The eligible members of ELO include Jeff Lynne, Roy Wood, Bev Bevan and Richard Tandy, while the classic Steve Perry lineup of Journey is nominated alongside founding keyboardist/singer Gregg Rolie.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2017 Induction Ceremony will televised on HBO, and a radio broadcast on SiriusXM.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: