Feist Releases New Single ‘Borrow Trouble’ From Forthcoming Album ‘Multitudes’

Feist has today released Borrow Trouble, the brilliant new single from the multi-award winning, hugely influential musician’s new album Multitudes, which will be released 14 April via Universal Music/Polydor France, pre-order here. Three tracks from the album are already available – In Lightning, Love Who We Are Meant To and Hiding Out in The Open.

Recorded in a bespoke residential studio in the California Redwoods, Multitudes was produced by Feist with longtime collaborators Robbie Lackritz (The Weather Station, Bahamas, Robbie Robertson) and Mocky (Jamie Lidell, Vulfpeck, Kelela), with Borrow Trouble co-produced by Blake Mills (Bob Dylan, Fiona Apple, Perfume Genius).

“Borrow Trouble caused some trouble in trying to finish the recording,” comments Feist of the new single. “It began as a contemplative acoustic morality tale and shape shifted itself into the sound of trouble itself. It’s a mess that holds its own logic. It’s the convincing cacophony that thoughts can be. It saws away at you until your overwhelm pops an air supply in the form of another idea, a solution that starts with accepting there’s no such thing as perfection.

“Mike Mills (the filmmaker), directed me deeper into the tangle, insisted I play drums ‘because you’re not a drummer!’ and Amir Yaghmai brought the fist pumping drone of violins. Early on, when I was writing it Charles Spearin said ‘yah but what does borrowing trouble mean?’ And I said “It’s an expression from the old days,” which became the chorus. May as well let the song explain, like I’m doing now.”

Feist’s sixth full-length and first release since 2017’s critically lauded Pleasure, Multitudes took shape soon after the birth of her daughter and sudden death of her father, a back-to-back convergence of life-altering events that left the Canadian singer/songwriter with “nothing performative in me anymore.” As she cleansed her songwriting of any tendency to obscure unwanted truths, Feist slowly made her way toward a batch of songs rooted in a raw and potent realism which is touched with otherworldly beauty.

Largely written and work shopped during an intensely communal experimental show of the same name through 2021 and 2022, the songs developed in parallel with and were deeply influenced by the mutuality of the unconventional experience. The Multitudes production, developed by Feist with legendary designer Rob Sinclair (David Byrne’s American Utopia, Peter Gabriel, Tame Impala) involved a subtle dramaturgical disarming of normalized conventions between performer and observer.

Multitudes was the first live show to be designed with 360-degree immersive sound incorporated into the production. The album was also recorded with immersive sound designed into its production – in pristine audiophile grade Dolby ATMOS – by multi-Grammy nominated producer-engineer Robbie Lackritz.

Multitudes Track List:

  1. In Lightning
  2. Forever Before
  3. Love Who We Are Meant To
  4. Hiding Out in The Open
  5. The Redwing
  6. I Took All Of My Rings Off
  7. Of Womankind
  8. Become The Earth
  9. Borrow Trouble
  10. Martyr Moves
  11. Calling All The Gods
  12. Song For Sad Friends