Milky Chance Announce New Album ‘Living In A Haze’

Milky Chance – the German duo of childhood friends Clemens Rehbein and Phillipp Dausch — today announce their new album Living In A Haze, out Friday 9 June via their own label Muggelig Records. The duo, who have risen to global fame on the back of their idiosyncratic and inventive alt-pop songs, deliver a refined and expansive take on their peculiar sonic vision with their fourth album, which features guest appearances from Malian artist Fatoumata Diawara and Canadian singer, Charlotte Cardin.

To celebrate the announcement, Milky Chance today also share two tracks from the album – new single and album title track, Living In A Haze, and bonus b-side Frequency Of Love. Speaking on the meaning behind the new single, Clemens explains, ‘Sometimes you lose track of what’s important, live day by day distracted and don’t really know how to get out of it. At the same time, it seems like everybody around you does not feel that way, life looks so easy when they do it and a desire builds up to have it just like that. So this one‘s for all who wanna be able to dance the pain away.’

Directed by Alena Shevchenko, the video for Living In A Haze finds Rehbein and Dausch as boom mic operators on a music video shoot, daydreaming themselves into the choreography.

The second track and album closer, Frequency of Love, is described by Rehbein as ‘a pretty emotional track for us. In the writing and production process of this album, we really wanted to try out new things, and dig a little deeper musically and this song was an exciting outcome of it. It gives a hint of the range and different directions that we’ve been going with this album.’ Packed with alluring sub-bass textures and vocoder choirs, it’s a particularly affecting moment from Milky Chance — and hints at the breadth of sonic territory they cover throughout Living In A Haze.

Since choosing independence with their own label Muggelig Records in 2021, they worked with their partners at Wasted Talent, Ansatz Music Group, and Believe to build a global team of over 150 members that has delivered major success around singles like Colorado (200 million global streams, Top 5 Alternative and Triple A) and Synchronize (75 million global streams, Top 10 Triple A and Top 15 Alternative). Milky Chance has used their autonomy to focus on global fan development, experimenting with their approach to their music like their travel-inspired Trip Tapes, official collections of remixes, demos, and covers that originally featured as part of the soundtrack to their viral Road Tripping Radio series. Living In A Haze is the artistic culmination of their newfound freedom: Adventurous and unburdened by expectation, it courses with an undeniable energy and sense of possibility.

This winter, the duo will embark on their biggest-ever North American tour, weaving their way across 48 different US and Canadian cities with Young The Giant and 66 cities in total. These will include performances in iconic venues like New York City’s Pier 17 and Colorado’s Red Rocks Amphitheater. Learn more about the tour here and see below for the full routing schedule.

Living In A Haze Track list:

  1. Living In A Haze
  2. Golden
  3. Purple Tiger
  4. Colorado
  5. Favorite Song
  6. Synchronize
  7. Better Off
  8. Flicker In The Dark
  9. Like A Clown
  10. Feeling For You
  11. History Of Yesterday
  12. Frequency Of Love
%d bloggers like this: