Tame Impala Announces ‘Lonerism’ 10 Year Anniversary Box Set

Late in 2022 Tame Impala’s landmark album Lonerism turned 10. To mark the occasion the band performed the album in full at the California festival, Desert Daze. Today, the Lonerism 10 Year Anniversary Box Set has been announced for release on 26 May with pre-orders available now here. The 3 LP box set features a 24-page booklet, unreleased Lonerism demos and never before heard demo sessions. Anniversary edition artwork was designed by Erin Knutson and Immanuel Yang, with additional photography by Matt Sav and Kevin Parker.

In a recent Instagram post, Parker said it’s “difficult to sum up what the album means to me at this point. It was a pretty special time making the music for me. In a way, it’s when I truly discovered myself as an artist. Coming off the back of ‘Innerspeaker’ I had this new sense of purpose…calling…whatever you want to call it. I had finally given myself permission to let music take over my being completely…to become totally immersed in my own world of recording music. So I had this new sense of creative freedom. I felt free to be ambitious, weird, pop, experimental, whatever, and didn’t feel judged because I was finally just doing it for myself and believed in myself. For the most part anyway…”

Lonerism, Tame Impala’s second studio full length was recorded both at Kevin Parker’s home studio in Perth and in Paris. The album received a 9.0 ‘Best New Music’ on Pitchfork saying “Lonerism is portable and joyous, a soundtrack for the times when you’re walking downtown and look up at a collection of skyscrapers, or driving through a mountain pass on an interstate…embodying and advocating a wakeful and passive state of psychedelia.” The album birthed the singles Elephant and Feels Like We Only Go Backwards, which received worldwide commercial radio play and endless film and TV sync licensing respectively, catapulting Tame Impala into the mainstream. The album topped 2012 year-end lists and was nominated for Best Alternative Album at the 56th Annual GRAMMY Awards and won multiple ARIA Awards. Since its release Lonerism has gone on to be ARIA certified platinum, RIAA certified gold, and platinum in multiple territories and has reached nearly 2 billion lifetime streams.

Tame Impala (Kevin Parker) recently teamed up with the Gorillaz for the track New Gold (Feat. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown). In 2022 Parker appeared on two major film soundtracks. He joined the legendary Diana Ross for the new song Turn Up The Sunshine, featured on the star-studded Minions: Rise of the Gru soundtrack and was tapped to reinvent Edge Of Reality for Baz Luhrman’s Elvis.

Tame impala’s most recent album, The Slow Rush, released 3 years ago, landed at #1 album in multiple territories and was his highest charting album to date in both the US and UK with 14 top 10 chart positions around the world. The album serves as a deep reflection on the passage of time. “While everybody else in the catchy-song business seems to be running in circles, [Parker is] out there unapologetically having fun, creating new delivery systems for his own exotic brand of sonic euphoria,” said NPR. The Slow Rush has amassed over 3.2 billion streams and counting and is ARIA and RIAA certified gold.

In addition to its chart success, Parker won an ARIA Awards haul, taking home Album of the Year, Best Group, Best Rock Album, Engineer of the Year and Producer of the Year. Parker was nominated for two GRAMMY Awards in 2021 for Best Alternative Album and Best Rock Song for the single Lost In Yesterday. This marked his third nomination in the Alternative category, having previously been nominated for Currents and Lonerism. The Slow Rush was also nominated for two Billboard Music Awards and an American Music Award (AMA).

Parker has emerged as one of the most influential voices of the last decade. Renowned for their transcendent live performance, Tame Impala has headlined festivals and theaters around the world and released four full length albums – InnerSpeaker, Lonerism, Currents and The Slow Rush. As a writer and producer Parker has collaborated with The Weeknd, SZA, Lady Gaga, Travis Scott, Mark Ronson, Kali Uchis, 070 Shake, Theophilus London, Miguel, A$AP Rocky and more.

Lonerism 10 Year Anniversary Box Set Track Listing:
Side A:
Be Above It
Endors Toi
Apocalypse Dreams

Side B:
Mind Mischief
Music To Walk Home By
Why Won’t They Talk To Me?

Side C:
Feels Like We Only Go Backwards
Keep On Lying

Side D:
She Just Won’t Believe Me
Nothing That Has Happened So Far Has Been Anything We Could Control
Sun’s Coming Up

Side E:
Retina Show (Unreleased Demo)
Sidetracked Soundtrack (Unreleased Demo)

Side F:
Assorted Sketches, 2010-2012

%d bloggers like this: