PAVEMENT Announce Expanded Reissue Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal

On April 8th, Matador Records / Remote Control Records will release Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal, an exhaustive 45-track reissue of the band’s much-loved fifth and final album. The new special edition compiles the remastered original album, B-sides, home demos, rehearsal tapes, era-appropriate live recordings, and even the rough tracks from Pavement’s scrapped session at Sonic Youth’s Echo Canyon studio. Altogether, it features 28 unreleased tracks.

The 4xLP and 2xCD editions will include a book with never-before-seen photos and commentary / context from band members Mark Ibold, Stephen Malkmus, Bob Nastanovich, Spiral Stairs, and Steve West as well as producer Nigel Godrich (Radiohead, Beck).

The LP will restore Godrich’s suggested sequence – which foregrounds the album’s headiest songs – while the CD preserves the final track order assembled by the band.

Originally released in 1999, Terror Twilight marked a departure from Pavement’s established operating methods. Which is to say that it was recorded with a big-time producer in an expensive studio. However, for all the talk of “polish” and “precision” it’s still very much a Pavement record. And a great one. Like every Pavement album that preceded it, Terror Twilight thrills and confounds. Often at the same time. Twenty-two years on, the songs remain moody, strange, and eminently deserving of re-celebration.

Following a 10+ year hiatus, Pavement recently announced a run of UK, European and North American reunion shows for 2022, including a five night run at the Roundhouse in London.

Pavement are Mark Ibold, Scott “Spiral Stairs” Kannberg, Stephen Malkmus, Bob Nastanovich and Steve West. Among the most beloved acts to come out of the American underground in the 1990’s, the band released five era-defining albums – Slanted And Enchanted (1992), Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain (1994), Wowee Zowee (1995), Brighten The Corners (1997) and Terror Twilight (1999) – before disbanding in 1999. Pavement’s 2010 reunion saw them play four sold out shows in Central Park and top the bills of festivals worldwide including Coachella, Primavera Sound, and Pitchfork.

Pre-order / pre-save Pavement – Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal:

Pavement – Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal

LP1 – Side A

  1. Platform Blues
  2. The Hexx
  3. You Are a Light
  4. Cream of Gold
  5. Ann Don’t Cry

LP1 – Side B

  1. Billie
  2. Folk Jam
  3. Major Leagues
  4. Carrot Rope
  5. Shagbag #
  6. Speak, See, Remember
  7. Spit On a Stranger

LP2 – Side C

  1. The Porpoise and the Hand Grenade
  2. Rooftop Gambler
  3. Your Time to Change
  4. Stub Your Toe
  5. Major Leagues (Demo Version)
  6. Decouvert de Soleil

LP2 – Side D

  1. Carrot Rope (SM Demo) #
  2. Folk Jam Moog (SM Demo) #
  3. Billy (SM Demo) #
  4. Terror Twilight [Speak, See, Remember] (SM Demo) #
  5. You Are a Light (SM Demo) #
  6. Cream of Gold Intro (Jessamine) #
  7. Cream of Gold (SM Demo) #

LP3 – Side E

  1. Spit On a Stranger (SM Demo) #
  2. Folk Jam Guitar (SM Demo) #
  3. You Are a Light (Echo Canyon) #
  4. Ground Beefheart [Platform Blues] (Echo Canyon) #
  5. Folk Jam (Echo Canyon) #

LP3 – Side F

  1. Ann Don’t Cry (Echo Canyon) #
  2. Jesus in Harlem [Cream of Gold] (Echo Canyon) #
  3. The Porpoise and the Hand Grenade (Echo Canyon) #
  4. Spit On a Stranger (Echo Canyon) #
  5. Be The Hook #

LP4 – Side G

  1. You Are a Light (Jackpot!) #
  2. Terror Twilight Speak, See, Remember #
  3. Rooftop Gambler (Jessamine) #
  4. For Sale! The Preston School of Industry (Jessamine) #
  5. Frontwards (Live) #

LP4 – Side H

  1. Platform Blues (Live) #
  2. The Hexx (Live) #
  3. You Are a Light (Live) #
  4. Folk Jam (Live) #
  5. Sinister Purpose (Live) #

# previously unreleased

2xCD features 1999 album sequence

%d bloggers like this: