Oasis Knebworth 1996 Live Album & DVD/Blu-Ray Out This November

Marking 25 years to the day since the first night of the record breaking Knebworth 1996 concerts, Oasis unveil the trailer for their eagerly anticipated cinematic documentary, released in cinemas worldwide from 23 September via Trafalgar Releasing. In addition, tickets to the theatrical release of Oasis Knebworth 1996 are now available*.

Also announced today, a full live album and DVD/Blu-ray, also titled Oasis Knebworth 1996 is due for release on 19 November via Big Brother Recordings Ltd.

Directed by Grammy Award-winner Jake Scott, Oasis Knebworth 1996 is a joyful and at times poignant cinematic celebration of one of the most iconic live concert events of the last 25 years, driven entirely by the music, and the fans’ own experiences of that monumental weekend.

The film celebrates the story of the special relationship between Oasis and their fans that made the largest concert of the ‘90’s possible. It is told entirely in the moment through the eyes of the fans who were there, built around extensive and never before seen archive concert and backstage footage from the event, with additional interviews with the band and concert organisers.

The special live album and DVD/Blu-ray, also titled Oasis Knebworth 1996 released on 19 November via Big Brother Recordings Ltd formats include 2CD and triple LP on heavyweight vinyl with the digital version of the album featuring HD audio. The DVD will be released as a triple disc set including the Oasis Knebworth 1996 cinematic documentary plus both nights of the live concert in full, with the Blu-ray in single disc format. Limited edition formats include the 2CD with DVD of the cinematic documentary, plus a Super Deluxe Box Set including the triple LP, 2CD and triple DVD plus replicas of the original gig memorabilia, available exclusively from the band’s online store. All formats are available for pre-order here.

Oasis’ two record breaking nights at Knebworth took place on 10th & 11th August 1996, with over a quarter of a million young music fans from all over the world converging on Knebworth Park, Hertfordshire to see the legendary sets. Tickets went on sale on 11 May 1996. Queues formed outside local record shops and ticket offices overnight, and fans around the world spent the day on their landline phones trying to get through to constantly engaged booking lines. All tickets sold out in less than 24 hours, breaking every UK box office record in the process. Organisers estimated the band could have sold two or three times as many tickets, with over 2% of the population of the UK attempting to buy tickets.

The monumental shows were set against a backdrop of the UK slowly recovering from a decade of recession. Emerging from the ‘80s, the mood of the nation was changing. A cultural resurgence in arts and culture was giving rise to Cool Britannia and, in their meteoric rise, Oasis embodied that newfound optimism and swagger. Two short years had taken the band from their council estate in Manchester to becoming one of the biggest bands in the world and for the congregated masses, seeing themselves in the five men on stage in front of them, anything felt possible. Featuring a setlist absolutely packed from beginning to end with stone cold classics, from the opening salvo of ‘Columbia’ and Acquiesce, all the way to Champagne Supernova, Don’t Look Back In Anger, Live Forever, a triumphant, orchestra backed I Am The Walrus, and the first song from the 1990s to cross one billion streams on Spotify, Wonderwall, the Knebworth concerts were both the pinnacle of the band’s success and the landmark gathering for a generation.

The film is produced by Black Dog Films for Kosmic Kyte Ltd. Noel Gallagher and Liam Gallagher serve as executive producers. It is financed and distributed by Sony Music Entertainment and will be released theatrically by Trafalgar Releasing.

Released on 19th November 2021 on Big Brother Recordings.

Disc 1

  1. Columbia (Live at Knebworth)
  2. Acquiesce (Live at Knebworth)
  3. Supersonic (Live at Knebworth)
  4. Hello (Live at Knebworth)
  5. Some Might Say (Live at Knebworth)
  6. Roll With It (Live at Knebworth)
  7. Slide Away (Live at Knebworth)
  8. Morning Glory (Live at Knebworth)
  9. Round Are Way (Live at Knebworth)
  10. Cigarettes & Alcohol (Live at Knebworth)

Disc 2

  1. Whatever (Live at Knebworth)
  2. Cast No Shadow (Live at Knebworth)
  3. Wonderwall (Live at Knebworth)
  4. The Masterplan (Live at Knebworth)
  5. Don’t Look Back In Anger (Live at Knebworth)
  6. My Big Mouth (Live at Knebworth)
  7. It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!) (Live at Knebworth)
  8. Live Forever (Live at Knebworth)
  9. Champagne Supernova (Live at Knebworth)
  10. I Am The Walrus (Live at Knebworth)

Disc 3 (Oasis Knebworth 1996 Documentary DVD)

  1. Opening Credits
  2. Cool Britannia
  3. Tickets
  4. Leading Up To Knebworth
  5. Friday 9th August 1996
  6. Going To Knebworth
  7. Support Bands
  8. Build Up
  9. Columbia
  10. Acquiesce
  11. Supersonic
  12. Cigarettes & Alcohol
  13. Enjoying The Show / Screen Visuals
  14. Cast No Shadow
  15. Fans Singing
  16. The Masterplan
  17. What Would You Give the Band?
  18. Live Forever
  19. Saturday To Sunday
  20. Sunday Build Up
  21. Hello
  22. Some Might Say
  23. Roll With It
  24. Slide Away
  25. Morning Glory
  26. Don’t Look Back in Anger
  27. Who The Fuck Are Man United
  28. Champagne Supernova
  29. I Am The Walrus
  30. Wonderwall
  31. End Credits



*Due to lockdowns in parts of the country, not all Australian cinemas are on sale at present.

%d bloggers like this: