Raccoon City Are Back With Their Highly-Anticipated Album ‘For Nobody, Nowhere’

After a four-year hiatus, Adelaide’s beloved emo outfit Raccoon City have returned today with a new line-up and their second album For Nobody, Nowhere. Raccoon City’s current line-up now includes Tim Edwards (guitar) and Mariah Anzil (bass, and also Dylan’s wife!) who join Mitch Waugh (drums) and brothers Levi (vocals) and Dylan Cooper (guitar).

Raccoon City has released three singles in the lead up to the highly-anticipated album. Their first single Carnation (premiered on triple j’s short.fast.loud back in January) saw a triumphant return for the band in a subtly haunting single, touching on political themes. Nocturnus (released in March) demonstrated the band’s individual influences to create a song that duels as a part slow-burn ballad and more traditionally expected hardcore with vocalist Levi Cooper’s signature raw screaming, while their latest single release Mortality explores reflection, digging into the group’s ultimate goal for their fans to feel “sad but accepted,” which informs a lot of their decisions as a band.

“We are firm believers in creating a safer inclusive music scene and will always try to reflect that in the line-ups we book and the shows we play”, states founding member and guitarist Dylan Cooper.

For Nobody, Nowhere is set to be Raccoon City’s most finely tuned piece of work to date as the band continue to hone in on their sound. As a staple of Adelaide’s hardcore emo scene (often compared to La Dispute and Pianos Become The Teeth), Raccoon City have performed alongside international and national heavyweights, including The Saddest Landscape and Parkway Drive. In 2021, they returned post-lockdown to inspire a younger generation of fans, headlining their own single launch at Adelaide’s live music institution Unibar Adelaide – with support from friends Colourblind (BIGSOUND50, 2020), Plovers and Superdose Gangway.

Despite the tone of their music, the band try not to take life too seriously. Their podcast ‘Raccoon City Podcast Department’ is a glimpse into what it’s like to be “stuck in a van for 8 hours with 4 other freaks,” with episode names such as V Energy Will Sponsor Us that prove the band’s shameless commitment to finally score that lime-green elixir for life.

Recorded at House of SAP and mixed and mastered by Jarred Nettle (Sleep Talk’s Everything In Colour and more), ‘For Nobody, Nowhere’ also features a guest appearance from Renèe Munro of Adelaide band Hot Mess.

For Nobody, Nowhere by Raccoon City is out now!

Listen to the album

%d bloggers like this: