New Album In 2021 For DZ Deathrays

I OH YOU are psyched to announce DZ Deathrays’ fifth studio album Positive Rising: Part 2 – the highly anticipated follow up to 2019’s Positive Rising: Part 1 – will be released Friday 9th July 2021. In celebration of the forthcoming LP, DZ Deathrays have dropped their explosive new single Fired Up, along with a trippy animated video directed by Thomas Rawle.

Transitioning through over 15 different variants in its early stages, Fired Up was starting to challenge the 3-piece, before a moment of clarity hit, as drummer Simon Ridley puts it “… basically at some point Shane (Parsons) just turned ‘Fired Up’ into a big stadium-rocking-Bruce Springsteen-style-anthem and I guess that’s when we knew what we were dealing with” and so it formed into its current state, the explosive new single set to dominate the airwaves this summer.

Fired Up is the first single from the band since Positive Rising: Part 1’s release last year. PR:P1 saw widespread praise from local press, triple j and community radio, earned an ARIA nomination for Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album and took out the prize for Best Independent Punk Album at the 2019 AIR Awards.

After decamping to Los Angeles to record Part 1, the band returned home to record Part 2 in late 2019, along with producer Miro Mackie who traversed the globe to help bring Part 2 to life on the band’s home soil, leading to a tonal shift between the albums. They’re nonetheless designed to be treated as two halves of a whole, from the songs – which the band hopes will be played from beginning to end – to the artwork, which if you put the two album pictures together, depicts a full day, a yin and yang, a full spectrum of the Positive rising existence.

With a moodier tone than its predecessor, Positive Rising: Part 2 draws the outline of an apocalyptic scene, one that sees the band – Shane Parsons, Simon Ridley and Lachlan Ewbank – stepping outside of themselves, seeking out new perspectives and surveying the world from above. From up there, they don’t always like what they see, but Positive Rising: Part 2 offers a somewhat-hopeful ending to the sprawling rock saga.

When talking about the title track, Shane Parsons sums up the ethos of the album name beautifully. “Positive Rising is the closing song of the two-part album. The track comes from thoughts of an undercurrent of positivity throughout this world making its way to the surface. Starting small and developing into something that could potentially change lives for the better.”

Fired Up is an anthemic sonic pep talk, built for the live stage. It’s drenched in everything DZ Deathrays fans adore about the band, and a showcase of what Positive Rising: Part 2 has in store.

Positive Rising: Part 2
DZ Deathrays
Album out Friday 9 July 2021

through I OH YOU
Available to pre-order here

Positive Rising: Part 2 track listing:

  1. Skeleton Key
  2. Fear The Anchor (feat. Ecca Vandal)
  3. All Or Nothing
  4. Kerosene
  5. Fired Up
  6. Riff City
  7. Make Yourself Mad
  8. Golden Retriever
  9. Swept Up
  10. Run The Red
  11. Positive Rising
%d bloggers like this: