Not A Boys Name Release “The Internet Sucks”

A fever dream involving Alex Turner (of the Arctic Monkeys) crooning a made-up song is how The Internet Sucks was birthed into the world. Not A Boys Name delivers his first single and title track from his forthcoming debut EP, out July 3.

To accompany the single, is a live video built from the desire to play live music again. Jamming with his friends and hearing those sonic textures smashing into each other once more.

Featured in The Internet Sucks live video are Bec Sandridge, Dan Williams (Art vs Science), Lucy Taylor (UK singersongwriter PAWWS) and Ben Corbett (Half Speed) filmed frustratingly in the same city during the height of self isolation and the COVID pandemic.

Dave Jenkins Jr aka NOT A BOYS NAME awoke one night with the garbled dream track bouncing around in his head and decided to record it immediately. Being close to a guitar, and his laptop he quickly started bashing out the idea.

Several hours later The Internet Sucks was completed. NOT A BOYS NAME says, “Before Covid hit I was in a constant state of momentum. Always writing new material and rejecting anything that felt old – even if it wasn’t. The imposed isolation forced me to listen to the songs I had written over the last 2 years, and in doing so I found music that I was genuinely excited about. Songs I had written and recorded that I really wanted to show the world.

Dave sent the original demo of The Internet Sucks to producer pal Simon ‘Berkfinger’ Berckelman who convinced him to release the track. After adding one finishing touch, a face melting guitar solo from Kirin J Callinan, the track was ready to see the light of day. The song came at a time when Dave was in the midst of a separation, while his music project NOT A BOYS NAME was coming into fruition. Existential themes of love, sexuality, screen addiction, and longing for something more are all explored within the lyrics of The Internet Sucks.

%d bloggers like this: