Boy & Bear To Release Acoustic EP

Surprise Boy & Bear fans! The 5-piece have announced the release of what most of their fans have been requesting for. Available on Friday July 24th, Boy & Bear will be releasing At Golden Retriever Studio, a collection of freshly recorded acoustic versions of songs from their back catalogue, current album Suck On Light and a spanking new track.

“When we tour the USA we often get asked to perform our songs acoustically when we are on the radio. This usually involves acoustic guitars, tambourines and a toy keyboard, with the 5 of us jammed into a small studio. It gave us the idea to record a selection of acoustic tracks and present them as an album.”

The At Golden Retriever Studio album was recorded in Sydney with esteemed producer Simon Berkelman at Golden Retriever studios with Boy & Bear performing on acoustic guitars, a bass and an upright piano.

“The sessions brought an honest an intimate mood to the songs and was a great experience for us.”Dave Hosking says of the newly recorded Bad People, “This song was super fun to record stripped back. It took on a whole new life and feel which was refreshing. In a nice way, it loses the shimmer of the full production but gains a pleasant nostalgia and hopefully draws the listener in even more so to the story behind it.

The 9-track acoustic album includes reworded songs from the triple j featured album Suck On Light and the tastiest of cuts from #1 ARIA Charting Album’s Limit Of Love and Harlequin Dream. In addition, Boy & Bear have included their recently released track Wicked Game (acoustic) and an unreleased track 3 Moons. 3 Moons was recorded as part of the Suck on Light recordings but it didn’t make the album for a variety of reasons. The band have always loved the song and found a place for it on the acoustic album.

Track listing of At Golden Retriever Studio

  1. Telescope (acoustic)
  2. Old Town Blues (acoustic)
  3. Suck On Light (acoustic)
  4. Limit Of Love (acoustic)
  5. Bad People (acoustic)
  6. Hold Your Nerve (acoustic)
  7. Southern Sun (acoustic)
  8. Wicked Game (acoustic)
  9. 3 Moons

The announcement follows the news of the postponement of Boy & Bear’s Suck On Light Tour until November 2020. Re-scheduled dates are listed below with some changes made to venues. For more information please visit Boy & Bear’s website.

Tickets on sale from:

%d bloggers like this: