Sabaton’s New Album Rockets Up The Chart

Swedish heavy metal heroes SABATON release their new album The Great War, is out now through Nuclear Blast. It promises to be one of the biggest Metal albums of 2019.

The release of SABATON’s ninth full-length record perfectly coincides with the band’s 20th anniversary and the concept album is based on events during the First World War. The band started the recordings exactly 100 years after the end of the First World War (11/11/1918) and took 3 months of intensive work to complete the album together with their long-term producer and partner Jonas Kjellgren at Black Lounge studios. Furthermore, the album has been mastered by Maor Appelbaum and the artwork was once again created by Peter Sallaí. “This is not the first time we have sung about stories from this period in time, but now we felt the timing was right to make a full concept album about this war”, explain the band.

Alongside the album, the Swedes have worked hard to make their 20th year anniversary a very exciting year, and also started the SABATON History Channel – a unique collaboration between the band themselves and multimedia historians Indy Neidell and Timeghost – capturing the power of social media to tell stories about the wars, battles and heroes behind SABATON’s songs. Subscribe to the YouTube channel.

“This is the biggest album we have taken on so far. There is more depth and story around the songs that we have ever had before”, Pär Sundström announces. “Expect many surprises as we have tried new things and we also went back in time to a concept we know a lot of you love. The Great War has been created side by side with the Sabaton History Channel to make 2019 the most exciting year in our 20 year history.”

Sabaton explain the album in a series of trailers. These are a great insight into how the album was developed and recorded.

In the first album trailer, Joakim Broden and Pär Sundström talk about different aspects of the album. The Great War: Album Stories Part 1. Watch it here:

In the second album trailer, Joakim Broden and Pär Sundström talk about further aspects of the album. The Great War: Album Stories Part 2. Watch it here:

In the third album trailer, they discuss the song writing process of their upcoming album. The Great War: Album Stories Part 3. Watch the trailer here:

In the fourth album trailer, they discuss the importance of putting their music into context and why Verdun plays a key role in The Great War. The Great War: Album Stories Part 4. Watch the trailer here:

The band have now revealed their fifth album trailer, in which they provide details about the different formats in which the album will be available. The Great War: Album Stories Part 5. Watch the new trailer here:

The Great War track list:

  1. The Future Of Warfare
  2. Seven Pillars Of Wisdom
  3. 82nd All The Way
  4. The Attack Of The Dead Men
  5. Devil Dogs
  6. The Red Baron
  7. Great War
  8. A Ghost In The Trenches
  9. Fields Of Verdun
  10. The End Of The War To End All Wars
  11. In Flanders Fields

Purchase THE GREAT WAR here:

%d bloggers like this: