New Single Out For Hatchie…

To coincide with her return to Australia for a sold-out East Coast tour, Brisbane artist Hatchie has unveiled her stunning new dream-pop single, Obsessed. The track, accompanied by the video (directed by Joe Agius), is the next glimpse into her forthcoming debut album Keepsake (out Fri 21 June) and follows lead single Without A Blush and recent tears-on-the-dancefloor anthem, Stay With Me.

Speaking about Obsessed, Hatchie says:
“‘Obsessed’ is a song about friendship. I wrote it when reflecting on my teenage tendency to cling to a new best friend for support, until I eventually convinced myself I wasn’t worthy of their friendship. It’s ultimately a celebration of meeting somebody who you look up to who helps you grow into a more adventurous person.”

The release of Obsessed comes on the eve of Hatchie’s sold-out East Coast tour, which kicks off tonight at the Northcote Social Club in Melbourne, and continues tomorrow night at The Lansdowne (Sydney) followed by The Foundry (Brisbane) on Fri 24 May.

On her upcoming debut LP Keepsake, Hatchie experiments with countless new textures, exploring everything from industrial to new wave to dance-pop, handling each with understated elegance and pure, powerful feeling. Teaming up once again with Sugar & Spice (EP) producer John Castle (Cub Sport, Vance Joy, Jack River) Keepsake was recorded in his studio in Melbourne’s north.

There’s a self-possessed spirit infusing all of Keepsake, which ultimately serves as a document of a particularly kinetic moment in Hatchie’s life. “I’m not much of a nostalgic person when it comes to memories, but I do have a tendency to hold on to certain things, like tickets from the first time I went someplace on holiday,” Hatchie says, reflecting on the album’s title.

“It made sense to me to call the record that, at a time when I’m going to probably end up with a lot of keepsakes – and in a way, this whole album is almost like a keepsake in itself.”

Keepsake will be released on Friday 21 June on vinyl, CD and digital services, and is available to pre-order here.


Out Friday 21 June through
Ivy League Records
Pre-order available here

Keepsake track list:

  1. Not That Kind
  2. Without A Blush
  3. Her Own Heart
  4. Obsessed
  5. Unwanted Guest
  6. Secret
  7. Kiss The Stars
  8. Stay With Me
  9. When I Get Out
  10. Keep
%d bloggers like this: