Band Of Skulls Announce New Album

Acclaimed British rock band Band Of Skulls have announced their fifth album Love Is All You Love, which will be released 12 April. The euphoric lead single Cool Your Battles is out now. The follow-up to 2016’s By Default, the new album was produced by Richard X (Goldfrapp, M.I.A., Pet Shop Boys), who also co-wrote four of the tracks.

Cool Your Battles is “an anti-war cry for our turbulent times,” say Band Of Skulls. “All the energy we spend fighting amongst ourselves can be used to do something positive, something real. So don’t forget to go out, to fall in love and to feel alive.”

Love Is All You Love was recorded in London’s Miloco Studios, The Smoakstack studio in Nashville, and in the Southampton studio of Band Of Skulls’ founding members Russell Marsden (guitar, vocals) and Emma Richardson (bass, vocals). Following the amicable departure of drummer Matt Hayward, Russell and Emma started the writing process for the record in 2017 and quickly accumulated a host of new songs. It was a free and experimental process mixing electronic and live instruments, working quickly, getting ideas down, then moving on.

Producer Richard X encouraged Band Of Skulls’ new spirit of experimentation, pushing the combination of live and electronic as mixing the two was creating interesting dynamics. Once the writing of the album was complete, the band decamped to Nashville to record the live element of the record with Eagles Of Death Metal’s Julian Dorio on drums.

Love Is All You Love has a heavy punch and power, especially on the unrelenting Carnivorous and short sharp shock of That’s My Trouble. Cool Your Battles is more widescreen, while We’re Alive has a heavy dance pulse with a touch of melancholy. Title track Love Is All You Love focuses on the groove and keeps the feel of when they tracked it live in Nashville. This song in particular seems to encapsulate the sentiment of the whole record.

“This record is tough and tender with a rebellious spirit,” say Emma and Russell. “It is a positive record. It looks to what is possible and how a little love and human kindness can help bring about positive change. We drew on personal experiences, changes in our situation, and couldn’t help but be affected by what has been going on in the world politically, culturally and environmentally. Attempting to overcome that sometimes powerless feeling by creating and connecting with people and making something new.”

Since forming in 2009, Band Of Skulls have released four acclaimed studio albums and have built a reputation as a phenomenal live act, both at home and overseas. They have toured around the world with luminaries such as Muse, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Queens Of The Stone Age and The Black Keys, alongside their own remarkable headline shows.

Love Is All You Love Album
Band Of Skulls
Out 12 April 2019 through Liberator Music
Pre-order available here

Love Is All You Love track list:

  1. Carnivorous
  2. That’s My Trouble
  3. Love Is All You Love
  4. Not The Kind Of Nothing I Know
  5. Cool Your Battles
  6. Sound Of You
  7. Thanks A Lot
  8. We’re Alive
  9. Speed Of Light
  10. Gold

band of skulls - love is all you love

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: