Sydney-based, Grammy-nominated trio Mansionair today revealed that their anticipated debut album, Shadowboxer, will be released on March 1 via Liberation Records. The exciting announcement is heralded by the arrival of their shimmering new single, Shadows.

The long-awaited Shadowboxer was written and self-produced over a three-year period – in living rooms, studios, a garage in inner-city Sydney, and finally a cabin in the Californian mountains – in between the band’s travels and touring. It’s the culmination of a journey that started with a viral hit single – Hold Me Down – and led to high profile collaborations, a Grammy-nomination, ARIA and Billboard charting singles and several major support tours (CHVRCHES, Florence & The Machine, London Grammar and Bob Moses). But it’s also an album reflective of everything the band were going through personally and creatively – from mental health to sickness, relationship breakdowns to the ordinary coming-of-age struggles of youth.

“Shadowboxer is about acknowledging that we are often our own opponent, and learning to accept our inner shadows – the ones we try so hard to ignore. It’s a record about deciding to lift our gaze from the darkness and acknowledge the light that shapes us.

It bookends our first years of discovering who we are and what we wanted Mansionair to be, as we pushed through insecurities, uncertainties and moments of relief. It’s as much a diary of our first three years working together as friends as it is about making every mistake possible together.” – Mansionair

Ahead of the release of Shadowboxer, the band will hit the road for the Laneway Festival tour in Feb. In March, they’ll pack their bags again for their first ever US headline run, taking in 20+ dates and kicking off in Los Angeles on the 2nd, before they take to the stage at Coachella in April – one of only a select few Australian bands on the bill.

Shadowboxer Album
Out Fri 1 March through Liberation Records
Available to pre-order here digitally, on CD or as a double vinyl

Mansionair - Shadowboxer.jpg

Shadowboxer tracklist:
1. EST.
2. Alibi
3. Easier
4. Technicolour
5. Heartbeat
6. Astronaut (Something About Your Love)
7. Violet City
8. We Could Leave
9. Shadows
10. Waiting Room
11. Falling
12. Sierra
13. Harlem
14. Best Behaviour
15. I Won’t Take No For An Answer
16. Heirloom

Mansionair Australian Tour Dates

Feb 2: Laneway Festival, Brisbane
Feb 3: Laneway Festival, Sydney
Feb 8: Laneway Festival, Adelaide
Feb 9: Laneway Festival, Melbourne

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: