alt-J Announce “Reduxer”

alt-J announce REDUXER, a set of eleven incredible reinterpretations of songs from their award-winning third album RELAXER, to be released 28 September. The songs on REDUXER have been reimagined by a host of fans, friends and peers, including a globe-straddling cross-section of some of the world’s most influential and prolific hip-hop artists and producers.

Putting their own indelible vocals on the songs are, amongst others, Australia’s own Tuka, Grammy-nominated US hip-hop high flyer GoldLink, Dublin-born breakthrough rapper Rejjie Snow, London’s acclaimed Little Simz, platinum-certified Parisian rapper Lomepal, Berlin powerhouse Kontra K, and Puerto Rican rapper PJ Sin Suela.

The project was first hinted at last month when Virginia Beach hip-hop superstar Pusha T and LA synth pop polymath Twin Shadow both joined alt-J for a surprise performance of In Cold Blood on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert, before swiftly releasing the studio version of the collaboration.

“It’s no secret that we love and are influenced by hip-hop, and it’s always been a dream of ours to work with hip-hop artists in reimagining our music,” the band explained. “With REDUXER that dream has come true. We couldn’t be happier with the results. This album is truly global, featuring rappers and producers from all over the world. After a very long time in the making, we are stoked to share it with you all.”

Debuting today is a new version of Deadcrush, reworked by the legendary producer The Alchemist alongside Latin American production powerhouse Trooko, and features the unmistakable vocals of hip-hop iconoclast Danny Brown.

alt-J’s critically acclaimed third record RELAXER gave alt-J their third top-10 album on the ARIA Chart (coming in at #4). After headlining London’s O2 Arena, RELAXER brought alt-J back to Australia to play shows across the country. RELAXER is the follow up to their number one, GRAMMY and BRIT Award-nominated album This Is All Yours, and their 2012 Mercury Prize and Ivor Novello Award-winning debut An Awesome Wave. Between them, the records have sold in excess of two million copies and their songs have been streamed more than one billion times.

REDUXER tracklist:
1. 3WW (feat. Little Simz) [OTG Version]
2. In Cold Blood (feat. Pusha T)
[Twin Shadow Version]
3. House of the Rising Sun (feat. Tuka) [Tuka Version]
4. Hit Me Like That Snare
(Jimi Charles Moody Version)
5. Deadcrush (feat. Danny Brown) [Alchemist x Trooko Version]
6. Adeline (feat. Paigey Cakey and Hex) [ADP Version]
7. Last Year (feat. GoldLink)
[Terrace Martin Version]
8. Pleader (feat. PJ Sin Suela)
[Trooko Version]
9. 3WW (feat. Lomepal) [Lomepal Version]
10. In Cold Blood (feat. Kontra K)
[Kontra K Version]
11. Hit Me Like That Snare (feat. Rejjie Snow) [Rejjie Snow Version]

REDUXER album 
Out 28 September 2018 through Liberator Music/Infectious Music/BMG
Pre-order available here

alt-J Reduxer

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: