Husky Announce “Punchbuzz”

Following the release of Late Night Store and a sold-out east coast tour, Melbourne duo Husky bring news of their awaited third record Punchbuzz (out June 2), and share new single Ghost.

Premiered on radio via triple j and online through Clash Magazine, Ghost offers a second glimpse of the new album and a freshly evolved, experiential sound. The song details Husky Gawenda and Gideon Preiss’s experiences of life back in Australia after eight months abroad in Europe. Previous single Late Night Store is now at two million streams on Spotify.

When Husky returned to the familiar sites and sounds of Melbourne late in 2015, the singer-songwriter sought sanctuary at a creative hub called The Hotel – “an old mansion that serves as a home, way station, salon, oasis for artists, eccentrics, night owls and sojourners passing through or needing to hang up their skates for a while.

“Melbourne was new to me as it always is when I return from being away. But it was also full of ghosts – remnants of my past life, people who were no longer around, places that were at once familiar and foreign, memories that drifted through my dreams and waking thoughts, becoming fused and inseparable. I slept little but dreamt a lot. My dreams were of the past, they took me back over and over again when what I wanted was to start again, to find something brand new. Ghost was part of a process of coming to terms with this half asleep, half awake, somewhere between the haunted past and the sunlit possibility of tomorrow.”

It was at The Hotel, readjusting to Melbourne life, that Ghost and the album Punchbuzz were born. Shaped by the duo’s recent experiences, Punchbuzz finds Husky tapping into something that hadn’t previously come to the fore on their debut album Forever So or much-loved follow-up Ruckers Hill. It sees the band swapping their signature folk sound for streamlined indie rock that lopes ahead with widescreen atmosphere, dark lyrics, and newly muscled melodies. Sharp, lean, and driving, the album more than lives up to the dynamic imperative of its title.

Both the new single Ghost and the album Punchbuzz will be released via Embassy of Music (Bjork, Robyn, Asgeir) in the UK and Europe and through fellow indie Nevado Music in the US, while Liberation Music will release the record in Australia and all remaining territories.

Husky - Punchbuzz.jpg

Punchbuzz track list:

  1. Ghost
  2. Shark Fin
  3. Punchbuzz
  4. Late Night Store
  5. Cut The Air
  6. Splinters In The Fire
  7. Walking In Your Sleep
  8. Cracks In The Pavement
  9. Flower Drum
  10. Spaces Between Heartbeats

Punchbuzz – Husky is out Friday 2 June 2017 through Liberation Music

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: